CARISO SUITE REVIEWS

Accuracy ★★★★★
Communication ★★★★★
Cleanliness ★★★★★
Location ★★★★★
Check In ★★★★★
Value ★★★★★

Above and beyond

★★

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed March 15, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our stay in the Cariso suite was by far beyond our expectations and we would definitely recommend staying here. Betty and her husband made sure we felt very welcome and that all of our needs were met. Our flight got in late so most restaurants were closed, but we arrived to find out that Betty had take out from Le Reine in the fridge for us. Then, our first full day on our trip, we got hit in our rental car. Not knowing what to do or who to call, my wife called Betty, whom not only advised her what to do, but then came out to find us and make sure we were okay. Seriously above and beyond!! We had fresh towels and access to snorkel gear during the whole stay. We also enjoyed the close proximity to so many great beaches and restaurants on the West End.

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   Yes.

Good size rental but we found house to be too hot to be comfortable

★★

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed March 15, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

First off, I would like to say that my husband and I have rented homes on many occasions with rental companies and this is the first time that I have ever given an “average” review.

This home is of a good size for 1 to 2 couples to share (as long as you don’t mind sharing a small bathroom).

My husband and I rented this 2 bedroom home but we were disappointed with our accommodations here. When I rented the unit it stated that it had air conditioning. When we arrived we were told that the air conditioning was only for the bedroom and that the bedroom door must be shut when the air was in use. This was not stated specifically in the description of the property. It was unbearably hot in the unit when it was closed during the day so on several occasions we left the fan on in the living room so that it would be cooler when we got home. However, every time we did, we would find that the fan was turned off when we would arrive back home from our excursions. We couldn’t have turned the air conditioning unit on in the living room because the remote to the unit was mysteriously missing.

On the day before we were to leave, we turned the air conditioner on in the spare room when we were packing our suitcases since it was so hot in that 2nd bedroom. One of the owners went and turned the breaker off outside and then proceeded to look in the window and give my husband a dirty look. You can imagine our surprise by this. We felt that this was not being a kind host.

Another suggestion to make guests feel more comfortable would be to replace the mattress. It sags terribly in the middle, to the point that my husband and I both ended up with bad backs by the time we left.

The unit is located several blocks off the beach and we were glad that we had a rental car in order to get around. When we arrived, Betty was nice enough to guide us to the local grocery store since it was a few miles away. It does sit close to town, which is a plus if one wants to be close to Fredrikstead. There is a pool but we didn’t have time to enjoy it.

Helpful Tips: Many of the stores/restaurants are closed in Fredrikstead when there isn’t a cruise ship in port. We were awoken by the doves cooing every morning. There is a washer and dryer on the grounds which is a nice feature.

5 of 5 bubblesEase of booking 5 of 5 bubblesDirections to the property
5 of 5 bubblesKey pickup/access to the property 3 of 5 bubblesOverall condition
2 of 5 bubblesQuality of bedding/mattresses 4 of 5 bubblesKitchen/utensils quality
3 of 5 bubblesCleanliness of bathroom 3 of 5 bubblesQuality of facilities/amenities
3 of 5 bubblesService
Liked best: Good size for 2 people
Liked least: The house was extremely hot and owners entered property every day turning off the fan we left on to attempt to cool the residence
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   No.
  • The property was “as advertised”.
  • The property provided wifi/internet access.

Amazing property with several well appointed bungalows, pool, quick walk to beach

★★

 

Reviewed February 1, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This is an amazing place! It was comfortable and was the best equipped place in which we have ever stayed–hair dryers, wifi, access to HBO, etc.; and even snorkeling gear we could borrow. The bungalows/apartments have access to a gorgeous pool. There are outdoor tables near the bungalows where one can have breakfast and tables by the pool for meals. It is a short walk to the most beautiful beach and to downtown. Betty met us several blocks away so we could follow her up the hill by car to find it as it is tucked away. She found a dentist for me when a crown chipped when she realized I was having a dental issue, and even called and made the appointment. She demonstrated how to work the TV, Wifi, air conditioning as soon as we arrived. She and Jerry were incredibly helpful when needed, which we did a few times.
This is a perfect place and hosts for people that want to get away, be on a beach, swim in the ocean and pool, and explore a small Caribbean town. Driving on the left was an easy transition and other drivers were calm. Christiansted, which has more shops and restaurants is only a 30 minute drive away, but Fredericksted has some very nice dining options too. We loved Blue Moon and Paradise (just opened) and Polly’s for breakfast. Betty provided all the menus so we could see our options. Figure out when the cruise ships come in and plan to go to town that day, and especially if they are there in the evening when local bands play on a bandstand. I can’t say enough wonderful things about our experience here!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
My age: 50-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   Yes.

The Cariso Suite is an island beauty with the comforts of home

★★

Reviewed January 13, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The property sits on a hill embedded in a stunning tropical forest. There is a glorious view of the Caribbean Sea and sunsets. We even saw the green flash! Breezes flow through the windows. Although the rooms are equipped with AC, there was no need to use it. We enjoyed the sounds of nature at night. Sugar Hill by the Sea is a peaceful place to relax and enjoy the warm days. The property has a pool and a bathroom for pool users, a nice feature. The pool area has sun areas and shade areas; we like having options. One can see dragonflies dancing around the water, and geckos scrambling around the fence. The facility also has a large washer and dryer for the guests. We counted at least three hammocks, and made good use of them! The Cariso Suite felt like our very own home with two large bedrooms, a dining room, kitchen, bathroom, and living room. The owners do a fabulous job of maintaining the property and the suites. The rooms are meticulously decorated and are quite beautiful. We felt like royalty here. The owners are the most gracious and kind people we’ve met. They truly love this place (they live on the property), and the that made us feel so special. We are moving to St. Croix soon, and we plan to recommend Sugar Hill by the Sea to our friends and family who travel as a group.

5 of 5 bubblesEase of booking 5 of 5 bubblesDirections to the property
5 of 5 bubblesKey pickup/access to the property 5 of 5 bubblesOverall condition
5 of 5 bubblesQuality of bedding/mattresses 5 of 5 bubblesKitchen/utensils quality
5 of 5 bubblesCleanliness of bathroom 5 of 5 bubblesQuality of facilities/amenities
5 of 5 bubblesService
Liked best: The location in a mini tropical forest
Liked least: The road into the property is a little rough, but that is typical on the island.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   Yes.

Recommended for:

Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • The property was “as advertised”.
  • I recommend the location.
  • The property was a good value for the price paid.
  • The property provided wifi/internet access.
  • My security deposit was returned on time.

Like a private paradise

★★

Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed in this suite for two weeks and it was perfect! It was private, quiet, relaxing. Betty and Jerry were fantastic hosts! We would go again and again.

5 of 5 bubblesValue 5 of 5 bubblesComfort
5 of 5 bubblesLocation 5 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5 of 5 bubblesService
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   Yes.

Great stay with Betty at the Cariso Suite

★★

Reviewed March 12, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We felt right at home in the Cariso Suite, Betty was extremely accommodating and very nice! We arrived late and she had snacks waiting for us and every day we would come home to freshly made beds and clean towels, it is truly a wonderful place to relax with friends and enjoy St. Croix! I would highly recommend staying at the Cariso Suite!

5 of 5 bubblesEase of booking 5 of 5 bubblesDirections to the property
5 of 5 bubblesKey pickup/access to the property 5 of 5 bubblesOverall condition
5 of 5 bubblesQuality of bedding/mattresses 5 of 5 bubblesKitchen/utensils quality
5 of 5 bubblesCleanliness of bathroom 5 of 5 bubblesQuality of facilities/amenities
5 of 5 bubblesService
Traveling group: Friends
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   Yes.

Recommended for:

Friends getaway Families with young children
  • The property was “as advertised”.
  • I recommend the location.
  • The property was a good value for the price paid.
  • The property provided wifi/internet access.
  • My security deposit was returned on time.

What an authentic, beautiful island, and what friendly, relaxed, wonderful hosts!!!

★★

Reviewed March 27, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This review could not start any other way but by mentioning our hosts, neighbors and owners of this little portion of paradise, Jerry and Betty.
From minute one, they went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable, happy, taken care of, and informed on all the wonderful things this island has to offer.
I am 25, and they had useful tips for every interest I expressed, from snorkeling, to seeing local wildlife, to the more or less “crowded” beaches.
The apartment was clean, functional, cozy, furnished with everything you could need, from a working wi-fi connection, to a real functional little kitchen, to a working television, and of course, more importantly, walking distance away from the beach.
I am fortunate enough to travel quite often, and I know that personally, the best way for me to truly enjoy a new place I am visiting, is to get to know the locals and discover the “insider” tips/recommendations.
Especially when staying for a relatively short amount of time, well, going to the Cariso suite was like having friends on the spot, who know the spot.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   Yes.

An authentic taste of the "American Paradise" with best imaginab

★★

Reviewed January 27, 2014 for a stay in February 2006

We found the Cariso Suite so perfect for us that we have been there several times over the years. The home is very comfortable, the decor is exceptional with personal artistic touch, and we loved having such a well-equipped kitchen when we wanted to eat-in.

Sugar hill is a very short walk to our favorite beaches for swimming, snorkeling and lounging either under bright blue sunny skies or beneath the palms and other natural shade. The private pool on the Sugar Hill estate is also a treat, nestled on the hillside with spectacular sunsets surrounded by diverse tropical landscaping, as well as cozy garden spots that surround the Cariso itself … especially the hammock under our favorite mahogany tree.

The owners offer such attentive warm hospitality, with lots of “insider tips” directed to our own personal interests. They have made discovering the cultural gems of St. Croix, diverse recreational activities, traditional island events, the best restaurants, tourist sights, favorite shopping spots, local specialties, peaceful hide-aways (our first visit was our honeymoon), etc. so much easier and more enjoyable.

We have sometimes recommended Sugar Hill’s other rental suites to close friends so we could all be on island at the same time and vacation together. You can really get the flavor of island life in the neighborhood and the closeby historic town of Frederiksted is so authentic compared to glitzy, noisy tourist towns we have seen elsewhere. You really feel well taken care of at Sugar Hill by the Sea with such accommodating host and hostess.

5 of 5 bubblesValue 5 of 5 bubblesComfort
4 of 5 bubblesLocation 5 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5 of 5 bubblesCheck-in 5 of 5 bubblesService
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  Absolutely!

Recommended for:

A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers

Tropical Paradise

★★

Reviewed January 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2010

This resort provided an exceptional vacation experience. The personal service and attention to detail provided by the owner was unsurpassed! Everything including my lovely,enchanting suite, the lush tropical grounds, the
inviting private pool area, the close proximity to the island’s beaches, culture, shopping,dining and recreational areas contributed to this unique and exciting tropical paradise experience!!!

5 of 5 bubblesValue 5 of 5 bubblesComfort
5 of 5 bubblesLocation 5 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5 of 5 bubblesCheck-in 5 of 5 bubblesService
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  Absolutely!

Recommended for:

A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers

Cariso - Suite Paradise!

★★

Reviewed January 22, 2014 for a stay in March 2013

If you are lucky enough to book this suite then you have hit the jackpot! Not only will it accommadate 4 adults, there is a sea view and garden of paradise outside your door. Whether you want to trek down to the beach or lazily lounge at the pool, there is no other place to relax on Earth! This is the best kept secret in St. Croix that I escape to over and over again!

5 of 5 bubblesValue 5 of 5 bubblesComfort
5 of 5 bubblesCleanliness 5 of 5 bubblesCheck-in
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  Absolutely!

Recommended for:

A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt